Ladislav Bezák

Published: 17th Feb 2019 by Civa News

Ladislav Bezák – World Aerobatic Champion #1
1932 – 2018

News has reached us that Czechoslovakian champion aerobatic pilot Ladislav Bezák sadly passed away in November last year, 2018.

Ladislav was the gold medal winner at the very first FAI World Aerobatic Championship which was held at Bratislava in August 1960, narrowly beating his team colleagues Jirí  Bláha and Frantisek Skácelík into the second and third medal winning places respectively. All of them flew Zlin 226 aircraft, in fact pilots from the Czechoslovakian team took eight of the top ten places.

You can find a complete results listing for this very first World Aerobatic Championship using the excellent historic contest results archive maintained by Michael Garbers at


Regulations for the programmes flown at this inaugural 1960 championship were clearly at an embryonic stage, preceding the general adoption of Colonel José Aresti’s now ubiquitous ‘aerocryptografico’ figure design system. Among the manoeuvres that required some judging instruction was the entirely unknown “Lomcovák” (figure-11 in Ladislav’s Free programme shown below here) where the gyroscopic effects of rotating propeller inertia are used to encourage the aeroplane through a seemingly impossible series of combined axis rotations that appear almost out of control, though it quickly became clear that this was not entirely the case. This word has since become part of the lexicon of aerobatic pilots, and may have stemmed from conversational use of the French term “L’homme Slovaque” which interestingly also translates colloquially as ‘wood head’ or headache in Slovakian.

With the 30th of these FAI World Aerobatic Championships due to take place at Châteauroux-Déols in France during late August this year under the well-established control of the FAI’s aerobatic commission CIVA, it is appropriate now to pay tribute to Ladislav and his many successors for the tremendous progress that has been made in this unique branch of sporting aviation since that first WAC in 1960, through over a half century of World and Continental championships under the aegis of the Fédération Aéronautique Internationale. The range of powered aerobatic championships now extends far beyond the original classification that we call Unlimited to cover the international Advanced, Intermediate and Yak-52 categories; the later-starting world of glider aerobatic competitions provides similar World and (historically) European championships for Unlimited and Advanced pilots. Since that foundation WAC in 1960 a total of 143 World and European FAI Aerobatic Champions have been declared by CIVA in classical (Aresti) and Freestyle genres, where the standard of flying and judging has continued to rise inexorably on the shoulders of everything that has been learned, practiced and developed by countless aerobatic pilots over the years since Ladislav and his colleagues established the pattern that we all follow.


Further reading

Section-6 Part-1 2024 for Power Aerobatics published

After the usual careful development interval, we are very pleased to announce that the 2024 version of CIVA’s Section-6 Part-1 Regulations for Power…

Read more

Excellence Cat-2 event at WAC-24

CIVA is delighted to announce that its first FAI Open Excellence Aerobatic Challenge category-2 event is to be run in combination with the…

Read more

CIVA Guide to Championship Organisation updated

Our comprehensive guidance document The CIVA Guide to Championship Organisation has now been updated for 2024. Importantly, this now includes an entirely new…

Read more

Next event:

Air Masters Cup Series



Are you hosting an aerobatic event?

Our aim is to provide forward information for everyone with an interest in aerobatic competition flying.

For this however we do need your help, so please make sure that your Aerobatic Club or National Airsport Control sends us details of all competitions that are open to pilots and/or judges from other countries and we’ll add them to our Championship Calendar so that they get the widest circulation possible.

Showcase your aerobatic photos

We are always looking for photos and videos of exciting or important aerobatic moments to use as page headers or in linked articles. Simply click on the button and submit your hi-res images or videos and we’ll use whatever we can.

Of course, if you see anything else that needs an update or a change then let us know by email - - and we’ll attend to it right away.

Scroll to Top